Return of the Bookworm

After a recent unpredictable foot injury I became bed bound for several weeks! However, on the other side of my recovery process, I’m now happy to say that, although the accident had the potential to make me miserable…it failed! The silver lining of this accident…? It enabled me to regain my “book worm” status!! 

For several months before my bed habitation I had been complaining that I’d lost the time to really get into a book and I really missed it! Reading has always been a part of me and what makes me relaxed and happy. However, the days when I used to inhale a story up in a day or two were gone 😦

Now there were jobs and studying taking up my time, dwindling friendships to concentrate on, countries to be explored and selves to be “found” and all of this ate into my reading time! But then, in the form of a broken metatarsal, crutches and a full leg cast, I was given the chance to make up for all of those stories my mind was missing and yearning to discover!

During my six weeks of house bound-ness and bed rest I did all of the things I had said were stopping me from reading, I worked and studied difficult plots, I caught up with old friends (dear old Bridget), I traveled and explored places of past and future and I found not myself but different selves in the form of new and extremely interesting writers! And it was far better than living a life where every evening consisted of robotic-ally watching a re-run of ‘Friends’.

Now I have found, that seeing as I enjoyed reading the books so much, I’d quite like to write about them too…

About thenewsherlockholmes

I am a graduate of English and Sociology and am soon to embark on a Masers in Secondary School teaching of English, Drama and Social Studies. I love to write, read and in my head I speak just like I read 'Bridget Jones' :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

