I survived The First Day!

The first day of anything is always nerve wrecking. Whether it be school, a job, college, an exercise class…pretty much anything!

Yesterday I found myself in a state of first day jitters as I embarked on my first day of teacher training. I had butterflies in my stomach, I questioned what I was wearing far too many times, I smiled with nervousness and when I tried to eat I just felt ill! And this was only the day I was meeting the teachers!!

Unfortunately my nerves got the better of me at some stage. I did the highly embarrassing thing of asking someone a question…but in a nervous, low voice so that they didn’t hear me…but in front of other people so that I didn’t get away with pretending I hadn’t said anything, eek :/

Once I’d gotten over my little mishap and the day had ended, I left the building, took a deep breath and realised I’d quite enjoyed it šŸ™‚ The school was lovely, the staff were friendly, my bus left me no more than 2 feet from the front door and I’d heard but kind and supportive things from the other student teachers!

I guess sometimes we let our nerves get the better of us. Our worries about saying or doing the right thing often cloud our vision of what we’re actually doing right. But then, nervousness can be a good thing too, can’t it? It shows that we care about something enough to be worried about messing it up.

Embarking on a masters I realise that over the next two years I’m going to have many firsts, first day with my students, first time my inspector comes to examine my teaching, first day in my college classes where I’ll be a student again…the list could go on and on. So I’ve decided, from now on I’m going to embrace my nerves see them as a good thing, take a few deep breaths and talk a bit louder so as to refrain from embarrassing myself šŸ˜€

Let’s say it together then… “NERVES ARE GOOD!!!” šŸ˜€

About thenewsherlockholmes

I am a graduate of English and Sociology and am soon to embark on a Masers in Secondary School teaching of English, Drama and Social Studies. I love to write, read and in my head I speak just like I read 'Bridget Jones' :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I survived The First Day!

  1. beautiful recount of first day at school . Keep your spirits up šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

